View 31: Cheetah Yawn

Cheetah yawning at the National Zoo, Washington, DC

Cheetah yawning at the National Zoo, Washington, DC

The National Zoo in Washington, DC, has a Cheetah compound where you can observe these magnificent big cats in easy viewing range. I used the Nikon 80-400mm VR lens to capture this male getting up from his afternoon nap and doing some stretching and yawning like my own housecat does. However, my cat does not have teeth that big or able to reach speeds of 70 miles per hour when chasing prey.

Here are a couple of other prominent National Zoo residents.

Giant Panda

Giant Panda

Young male Western Lowland Gorilla

Western Lowland Gorilla

This entry was posted in Animals, Weekly View and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to View 31: Cheetah Yawn

  1. Anna Surface says:

    These are wonderful, wonderful captures. I love the Cheetah yawn and the oh-so-sad looking expression of the gorilla. I’m impressed with your zoo photos. I find it hard to capture a really-good photo of a zoo animal. I keep trying though! Nice blog you have here. 🙂

    Like

  2. stphoto says:

    Thank you, Anna! Getting good zoo photos is a combination of luck and timing. I try to get to the zoo as early OR as late in the day as possible.

    The Panda was taken in the morning, gorilla late morning and the cheetah late afternoon. I only had 15 minutes for the panda as he quickly finished eating the bamboo before promptly taking a nap. The cheetah was luck as they were bringing them water and a snack. Up unitil then I had a few dozen pics of a napping cheetah. LOL

    Like

  3. morningjoy says:

    Love looking at your photos. Aren’t these animals magnificent? You’ve inspired me to visit the zoo again.

    Like

  4. Pingback: View 55: Disney’s Animal Kingdom « Views Infinitum

Leave a comment